Tuesday, February 9, 2016

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS: Educator of the Year Award

Osceola/SMC Chamber To Recognize Educator of the Year

The Osceola/South Mississippi County Chamber of Commerce proudly supports our area schools, and we are taking strides to show our appreciation and reward local educators for their excellent work in our local schools. The Chamber’s education committee is taking strides to help show appreciation and reward local educators for their excellent work in our local schools.

Launched this academic year, the Osceola/SMC Chamber will recognize an Educator of the Year that, in addition to the recognition, will also receive monetary awards. The nomination process is conducted online, and is open to anyone that wishes to recommend an individual for consideration. Nominations can be made for employees of Osceola and Rivercrest school districts, the Delta School, and Arkansas Northeastern College.

The unique thing to this award is it’s not exclusive to teachers. Anyone that is employed at any of the local educational institutions is eligible for nomination, regardless of title, accolades, length of employment, or level of education. “It is an educator award, not exclusive to teachers or instructors, as all school employees have a direct impact on student success,” says Chamber Director Ammi Tucker. “It may be a school bus driver that keeps a student encouraged to continue school, or a cafeteria staff member that holds conversations to keep them academically accountable. Every school employee matters.”

A link to the online nomination is available on the Chamber website at OsceolaSMCChamber.com under the Initiatives tab (direct link to nomination form). The winner will be declared at the Chamber’s annual Arkansas Scholars banquet. If you have questions on how to nominate or would like more information about the Chamber’s educator incentives, contact Ammi Tucker at 870-563-2281 or osceolachamber@sbcglobal.net